

CROATIAN BIOPHYSICAL SOCIETY Zagreb



Letter of Appreciation

We would like to extend our deepest appreciation to the entire Organizing Committee, all the lecturers and trainers, as well as students for the success of the

14th "Greta Pifat Mrzljak" International School of Biophysics

held from 23/8 - 1/9, 2018 at the Faculty of Science, University of Split, Croatia.

This eminent and internationally recognized School, has been traditionally co-organized, for more than 35 years, by the *Croatian Biophysical Society*. The recent 14th School was also co-organized by the EU COST Actions CA15126 "ARBRE-MOBIEU", CM1306 "Molecular Machines" and BM1403 "Native MS" and for the first time by the Faculty of Science, University of Split, Croatia. Further it was supported by EBSA (European Biophysical Societies' Association) and the Institute of Physics, Zagreb, as well as by several companies; Nanotemper, Bruker, JPK, Oxford Instruments and Asolutic.

This year the School further developed the concept of *hands-on* training workshops that were provided along the ex-cathedra lectures by renowned scientists. This format was first introduced to the School in 2016 and demonstrates great promise for the future.

We truly appreciate the great engagement, enthusiasm and professionalism of a key member of the School's organizational team, Dr. Ida Delač Marion who provided all the possible support to the School Chair and to participants and has been doing so ever since 2012.

We also thank other members of the team who, besides their organizational roles, took part as trainers in the workshops: Dr. Amela Hozić for the MS Proteomics workshop and Dr. Nadica Ivošević DeNardis, Dr. Tea Mišić Radić and Lucija Krce for the AFM workshop. Prof. Larisa Zoranić provided the foundation for the MD workshop which was delivered by Prof. Chris Oostenbrink, alongside her other roles on the organizational team. Further, we sincerely appreciate the efforts of Dr. Nadica Maltar Strmečki during the preparatory stages and we'd also like to thank the students who helped the team, namely Borna Radatović and Martina Požar.

In addition we would also like to thank Prof. Fraser MacMillan and Prof. Frank Sobott, chairs of the co-organizing COST actions, who also participated as lecturers, as well as to Prof. Patrick England, chair of the ARBRE-MOBIEU COST action.

Finally, we would thank the President of EBSA, Prof. Anthony Watts and past President, Prof. Helmut Grubmueller, who also participated as lecturers, thus substantiating further the EBSA support to the School.

We appreciate very much all of these contributions and consider them a great incentive for the organization of the next School, the 15th, in 2020.

Tomislav Vuletić School Chair, secretary of the Society Mario Cindrić President of the Society